Chess Squares

Everyone who knows me well enough know that I LOVE Pinterest. I can spend hours pinning recipes, crafts, sewing tutorials, birthday ideas, and all sorts of stuff I will probably never even use or even attempt for that matter. Well, lately I have decided to start cooking more for my family. I want to cook more homemade, from scratch, sit down and tell me how your day went dinners. At some point I will be blogging about that and letting you know how my first time Pinterest pinned recipe experiments go. Today we had a pinterest crock pot meal but I made the blog afterwards so we will start the first post with a dessert. Enough of my blabbering….let’s get down to business.

A Few days ago I pinned a recipe for chess squares aka Paula Deens Gooey Butter Cake. I decided today was a good a day as ever to test it out since I had all of the ingredients and a few minutes to spare. I have purchased this at Walmart before and it is oh so good so I was thrilled to be able to find a recipe. This cake is so so delicous, horrible for you, but so worth a splurge once in a while. Here is the recipe from Pinterest with a link to the original poster below. (Gotta give credit where credit is due!)

1 box yellow cake mix
3 eggs
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
4 cups (1 lb) powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 300 and spray a 9×13 dish with cooking spray. Mix cake mix, melted butter and one egg to a soft dough. Press into the bottom of the pan. Mix powdered sugar, softened cream cheese and remaining two eggs until smooth, about 1-2 mins. Pour on top of crust. Bake at 300 for 40-50 minutes until top is golden brown

Read more at http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/dessert/chess-squares.html#ixzz2GUz2mign

This was a relatively easy process. My 5 year old was gracious enough to stir the dough for me and do all the hard work. Gotta love having kids around to help cook. We patted the dough into the pan and prepped the cream cheese mixture and spread it on top.  Mind you this only took about 10 minutes which is perfect for my busy schedule.

DSCF9377

DSCF9379The recipe calls for 40-50 minutes at 300 degrees. I popped this baby in and set the timer for 40 minutes. 40 minutes didn’t quite cut it so I added a few minutes. I would suggest setting your timer for 40 minutes and then checking on it every 2 or 3 minutes til its golden brown and ready to come out. Ok so now that that’s over with comes the hard part.  The waiting. My kids were constantly asking  “Is it cool yet?” “Can I have some now mom? Please?” Finally it was cool enough to cut into and I will show you the finished product.  So GOOD! Like slap your grandmama good! This recipe is a keeper. A forever pin on my Pinterest dessert board.  Make sure to save it. Perfect for family get togethers and for those days your spouse forgets to mention company is coming. Just don’t tell them how easy it was to bake! DSCF9382

DSCF9391

 

3 thoughts on “Chess Squares

  1. Lynne Batchelder says:

    great read Jess!

  2. Racheal says:

    LoL @ “Slap your grandmamma good!”

Leave a Reply

