Pinterest pin test out: Toy Sack

When I came across this pin I just had to click on it! I am constantly searching for cute easy projects to do that have GOOD tutorials attached. Without a good tutorial I am lost. Utterly, completely lost! I was so happy when I clicked on the pin to find a wonderful tutorial here from Make It & Love It. Check out the original post here www.makeit-loveit.com/2012/12/little-pieces-toy-sack-a-great-place-to-store-all-those-teeny-pieces.html  This tutorial is excellent! She does a great job at showing the step by step process and making it easy for a visual learner like me. Alrighty then let’s get to it!

I was blessed to be able to drive home for Thanksgiving. While I was there I was also blessed to be given a huge bag full of fabric that belonged to my grandmother. A lot of it is vintage looking and old so I figured it would make a cute vintage inspired toy sack. I picked out my 2 colors and cut them per the tutorial. ImageNow comes the fun stuff! I read over Make It & Love It’s blog one more time and then started sewing. I started sewing my smaller rectangle onto the bigger one. Nothing fancy pretty basic stuff here folks. I used contrasting thread to add a little “border.”  Then I continued on and sewed the rectangle to the front piece. Her instructions say not to worry about fraying but I am not a fan of fraying (ocd much?) so I zigzag stiched when applying the rectangle to the front of the bag. No extra effort on my part.

Image

That was easy! Just my speed too. Next was to serge or zigzag around the edges of the 2 larger pieces. I for one don’t need a serger and can’t justify the price of it so I just use my zigzag stich. It’s the next best thing and works pretty well most of the time.

Image

Onto the next step. After zigzagging around the 2 pieces for the bag I put them right side together and sewed them together leaving the top 2 inches on both sides open to add the ties. So far so good. Just don’t mind my lack of manicure…. remember I have 4 kids!?!?

ImageSo with that being done I added zigzag stiching on the sides of my open seams. I will spare you the boring picture from that one. Make It & Love It has pictures in her tutorial for ya. The next part of her tutorial blew my mind….. She posted on how to square off the bottom of the bag! Ok, I am sure most of you already knew how to do this but I did not. I am so happy! I mean where has this info been all my life?!? She even has a tutorial inside her tutorial on how to do it. Again, it was pretty easy but I am still excited about it.

ImageThe last part I’m going to tell you about real quick is threading the ribbon through. First a great thing to do is run a lit lighter over the edges of the ribbon. It keeps it from fraying. Then use a safety pin to run your ribbon through so you don’t lose it and have to start over. Taking 2 seconds to do this will save your sanity. Promise.

Image

Here we are after threading. Ta-Da! I was finished in less than an hour. This pin is another keeper. Make It & Love It is my kinda blog and her instructions are awesome!

ImageSee that fraying? Yeah Im going to get rid of that don’t you worry! Next time I think I will do this in fun bright fabric for the kids.

ImageI didn’t add any writing to the front per lack of stuff to do it so I’m not sure what to do about that yet. Happy sewing people!

Leave a Reply

