DIY fabric weights

If you are like me you hate pinning. I don’t use that word lightly. I really really dislike pinning when I am cutting out my fabric. It’s such a pain in the butt! I have seen fabric weights in the store and the price is outrageous for something you can make yourself! I have seen others attempt to make them successfully so I figured I would give it a shot myself. Without a pattern it took me a few times (3 to be exact) but once I got it down it was pretty easy. Plus if you have kids they can even use them to learn to juggle if they’re into that. Or a hacky sack? If you’re old enough to remember those like I am!  

To start out cut out 6 squares of fabric.Only other thing you need is thread and dried beans or rice. Any kind will work. I did 2 1/2 inches X 2 1/2 inches but you could do anywhere from 2 inches x 2 inches and up to however big you need. I found that the size I did worked well so I stuck to it. 

ImageNext I will show you how they will be sewn together. Make a cross out of your pieces. 4 pieces across and then one on top and bottom of the second piece to the left. 

Image

Now we are ready to sew them together. I am using plain fabric but if you are using patterned make sure to put the pieces right sides facing together. Then stich together.Image

It should look like this when you open it up.Image

Continue to put your pieces together til all 4 are lined up and sewn. Make sure you double check that you are sewing them together the right way. Remember right sides facing together. 

Image

Next step is to complete our cross shape. Again turning right sides towards each other and sewing at the edge, add your top and bottom pieces. 

Image

 

It should look like this.

Image

 

Now we are going to sew our piece into a box. I’ll show you how to start off. Take the two pieces I am pointing to and sew them together by putting the 2 right sides together and then stiching. This is important! If you sew the wrong way your seems will show and you will have to start all over like I did the first time and I promise you will be mad! Or at least irritated.  Double check and then sew your line. 

Image

 

Once you’re done if you turn it right side out it should look like this. 

Image

Now that the first side is done you’re just going to continue to match up the sides to complete the sides of the square. Remember to make sure you’re sewing the right sides together! That is honestly the hardest part of this project. For someone who sews often this is usually engraved on their brain but people like me need reminding every once in a while. Once you are done with the sides your box should look like this with just the top flap unsewn. Yay! We are almost done!!!!! 

Image

Now to close in the top. We are going to be flipping the fabric inside out to make it easier and we are going to sew just 2 of the 3 sides closed. We need to leave the third open to flip it right side out and add the weights (our beans or rice). After you sew your 2 sides flip it right side out.

Image

Image

 

Once you have it right side out it should pretty much look like a box with one side open. Now comes the fun part. The beans! (or rice) I used navy beans simply because they were the cheapest. 

Image

Fill your fabric weight up about 3/4 of the way full. We are going to machine sew these closed and if you overfill them it will be tough! Trust me. I did it the first time. 

Image

Now take your weight and slightly fold in the edges of the fabric. We don’t want to have the edges fray and stick out too far. 

Image

 

With that out of the way sew that side up on your machine real quick and you’re done! If you would like a cleaner, hidden seam you can hand sew a blind stich to close it. If you are giving as a gift you may want to do that. I used the machine on the ones I made and I was happy with them. 

Image

 

You can make them in multiple color and fabric choices to match or mix them up to have a bright crazy mix of weights! 

Image

Next time you have to cut out a pattern use your weights and enjoy a pin-less cutout! 

 

Leave a Reply

