Ranch Crock Pot Pork Chops Pinterest try out

One of the first dinners I had pinned on my dinner board was the Ranch Crock Pot Pork Chops pin originally posted by Creations by Kara at http://www.creationsbykara.com/2012/05/ranch-crock-pot-pork-chops.html. These looked super easy and quick. Perfect for a busy mom of 4 like me or anyone who wants a good hot meal to come home to. Here are her instructions.

4 pork chops, about 1/2″ thick
a little oil for browning
1  Tbsp homemade ranch dressing mix (or you can use a Tbsp. from a store bought packet)
1 10 oz can cream of chicken soup
Mashed Potatoes

Quickly brown the pork chops on both sides over medium high heat in a little bit of oil. Don’t completely cook them, just give them a quick sear. Place them in your crock pot and sprinkle with the ranch dressing mix. Pour the soup over the top. Cook on LOW heat for 5-6 hours, or on HIGH heat for 3-4 hours. Serve with hot mashed potatoes.

So before anyone says anything…. You do not have to use store bought canned cream of chicken soup if you are concerned with the chemicals and preservatives. You can make your own and I found a tutorial for you here http://onceamonthmom.com/homemade-cream-of-something-soup/ On another similar note if you don’t want to use pre-made ranch dressing mix you can also make your own and I’ll include the link for you. http://www.robynsview.com/2012/03/homemade-ranch-dressing-dry-mix-recipe.html Ah the internet is a wonderful thing huh?

Alright sooooooo let’s get cooking. Her instructions were pretty basic and easy going. Get out your skillet and heat a little oil. Brown your pork chops (don’t cook them just brown them) and place them in your crockpot. I personally sprayed my crockpot with cooking spray first so you may want to do that or grease it if you don’t use spray. 

ImageOn a side note…. Please forgive these photos. They were taken with a mobile device because someone named “not me” broke my digital camera within the past few days. 😦 

Now take your ranch dressing dry mix and sprinkle it over the pork chops. The recipe calls for 1 tablespoon and I actually used 2. My family likes ranch a lot! Then pour the cream of chicken soup over your pork chops. 

ImageYeah, I know. It doesn’t look pretty. Don’t worry it will get better as it finishes! Now put your lid on and set your crockpot on low for 5-6 hours or on high for 3-4. I always try to cook for the longer times on low because it seems like things come out juicier and more tender. That’s it for now just sit back and wait! 

Image

 

Here we are about 2 hours into cooking. There is no need to check on these or flip them at all. I just wanted a photo to share. 

ImageAt this point I sprinkled a little freshly ground pepper on top. I am a pepper addict. Can’t live without the stuff. As you get closer to your pork chops being done make your mashed potatoes. Store bought or homemade will do.I actually added a little ranch dressing mix to my potatoes for a little kick and to try something different. Do whatever works for your family. After my potatoes were done I pulled out my pork chops and nestled them on piles of mashed potatoes. I added a little sprinkle of parsley on top and around the dish and Voila! Done! This recipe was super easy and quick to throw together. The kids gave it a B+. They tend to grade me on my cooking and they often play Food Network’s Chopped during dinner. My husband enjoyed these also and liked the sauce on the potatoes.I will be keeping this pin around for my weekly rotation. Let me know how yours come out! 

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

