Wooden pallet bookshelf

My goal for the past few weeks was to find some free wooden pallets to attempt to make my kids some bookshelves from them. Free project! Yup who doesn’t like free?!? Plus I am the type of person who loves to make stuff myself. Thankfully I was raised to be able to take care of myself, and build, paint, craft, cook, and do projects independently. I got my inspiration from Pinterest (per usual) Here is the original tutorial by Little Lucky Lu. Check out the tutorial http://www.littlelucylu.com/2011/05/from-pallet-to-bookshelves.html because for this one I’m just gonna share my photos and a few notes! (My arms hurt from all the sawing I did!)

ImageThis was the free pallet I picked up. After sawing per the tutorials instructions it looked like this. This part took the longest. Man hand sawing is not so fun!

Image

After sawing I evened out the tops and then sanded my little heart out.

ImageStill looks a little icky. Eh. Time to paint. Here is after the first coat. I used a brush and made sure I got all the little corners and edges.

Image

Yes, I am a messy painter. Ok, so after 2 or 3 coats I still had some yuck showing through so I used a small pain roller with a foam cover (from the Dollar Tree) and went over it a few more times and Voila! I love it. My back is hurting like you wouldn’t believe and it took way more effort than I thought but I made it myself and hopefully that’ll count for something with my girls. 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

