Homemade Laundry Soap

I have been seeing a lot of Pinterest posts with homemade laundry detrgent popping up. I have been making my own for several years now so I figured I would share my recipe. Many of the recipes I have seen lately require heating to make a liquid soap but mine is powdered and dry and works just as well with less prep time.

First you will need:

1 bar Fes-Naptha soap

1 box of Borax laundry booster

1 box of Arm and Hammer Super Washing Soda (not baking soda… do not interchange!)

Image

 

First take your bar of Fes-Naptha and grate it. Use the whole bar. It will make about 4 cups of shavings.

Image

Almost done. That was the hard part! Next add 2 cups of Borax and 2 cups of the washing powder. Stir well and put into an air tight container. Use 2 Tablespoons per load. That’s it. It leaves your clothes smelling fresh and clean. You will still have 1/2 a container of washing soda and 3/4 of a container of Borax left. You can make about 3 batches with the initial supplies and you will still have some borax leftover to clean with.

Image

I spent less than 9 dollars total for the initial batch. Add 3.50 for 3  more bars of soap and still about 12 dollars for over 6 quarts of detergent. Plus you are only using 2 tablespoons at a time so a little goes a long way!  Let me know what you think and how it worked.

Leave a Reply

